Friday, 2 September 2011

MUSIC, VIDEO, UK TOUR DATES AND NEW ALBUM: Ane Brun - It All Starts With One @anebrun

Norwegian singer Ane Brun's new single, Do You Remember, is set to be
released via Balloon Ranger Records on on July 25th 2011; it's taken
from the upcoming album 'It All Starts With One", which will follow in
October. Ane Brun - real name Ane Brunvoll, started writing songs
while studying in Bergen, Norway, in between working in bars and
record shops. Her debut album, 'Spending Time With Morgan', was
released in 2003 in 11 European countries. Her second album, 'A
Temporary Dive' was issued throughout Europe, Japan, Australia and the
US in 2005, where it received incredibly positive reviews. Ane's most
recent studio album, 'The Changing of the Seasons', came out in 2008
and featured the single The Treehouse Song and The Fall.

As well as all this, Ane has also released a collaborative album,
'Duets', recorded with some of the artists she admires including
Teitur and Ron Sexsmith. She has also received 2 Norwegian Grammys,
including one for Best Female Artist. Her forthcoming album 'It All
Starts with One' serves as the basis for a short film, 'One'. The
video for her single serves as the first chapter to be released from
the film, which will premiere in autumn 2011.

Ane Brun has also announced a European tour, to start in October, with
UK dates in November, which are as follows:

November 9th Deaf Institute, Manchester, UK
November 10th King Tuts, Glasgow, UK
November 11th HMV Institute - The Library, Birmingham, UK
November 12th Scala, London, UK

"Ane Brun was moving out of the traditional singer-songwriter suit as
early as the last album, Changing of the Seasons, and Tobias Froberg
completes that trip, and It All Starts With One allows for his own
sound to be taken to a new level. He hired two drummers, Per Eklund
(Lykke Li, Miike Snow) and Ola Hultgren (Loney Dear, thus Owls) to
play together on most of the album’s songs. Martin Hederos (Soundtrack
Of Our Lives, Tonbruket) was behind the organs. A large part of what
takes place in the musical arrangements is due to the interaction
between the evocative rhythm section and Hederos’ soaring piano.
Froberg only wanted bass on a single song, creating space and movement
for Ane’s exceptional voice, which was flanked by, among others, the
sisters from First Aid Kid (Do You Remember) and José González
(Worship).Some of the songs were completed by January 2011, but most
have been written in Ane’s writing studio in Stockholm in the January
/ February period of 2011. It was at this time that the Arab
revolution started and Ane spoke of how affected she was by the
courage and energy that people showed the world.It All Starts With One
explored the dynamics involved in trying to find balance between
embracing the independent without feeling lonely, and to keep oneself
and ones core intact, whilst wanting to help someone in need."

Track Listing:

01. Ane Brun - These Days (4:38)
02. Ane Brun - Words (4:25)
03. Ane Brun - Worship (6:01)
04. Ane Brun - Do You Remember (3:12)
05. Ane Brun - What's Happening With You And (4:36)
06. Ane Brun - Lifeline (3:04)
07. Ane Brun - One (3:19)
08. Ane Brun - The Light From One (5:21)
09. Ane Brun - Oh Love (4:18)
10. Ane Brun - Undertow (6:31)

Posted via email from uselessdesires